Spring Break 2018

For many people, spring break is a time of travel and adventure. Nope, not for this girl.

Freshman year spring break I had my wisdom teeth out, spent a few days throwing up pain meds, and spent most of the week on my parents’ couch.

Sophomore and junior year spring breaks were uneventful: working at 5 am, seeing my parents (which I do regularly anyways), and maybe visiting the grandparents in North Platte.

This year I spent spring break mostly with my boyfriend. I dragged him to my parents’ for a night, we cooked a few meals, we spent time with his brother and his friends, and we drank (and by “we” I mean “I”) a little too much on occasion. Since William is going to UNL this year, every day I get to spend with him is amazing. We went from seeing each other every day, to seeing each other every two-three weeks, and rather than go somewhere cool for break, I was content to stay in with him, eat home-cooked food, and watch movies and stand up comedy on Netflix. (If you haven’t seen the movie Veronica by the way, watch it. It’s good.)

I went with my mom to North Platte for two nights to see her parents. I hadn’t seen my grandparents since Christmas. There’s always a weekend that I tell myself I’ll make it up to see them this time, but something always comes up. I really needed to go out there and spend time with them. Every time I get to see them is a blessing because I just never know when the last time will be. We had some wine, played some pitch, and just had a great time.

Now, it’s Saturday. My spring break is almost over. My boyfriend has returned to Lincoln, and I’m sitting at my parents’ dining room table while my mom boils eggs. Yes, I am an actual child. I go home to dye Easter eggs with my mom almost every year. My best friend is in Colorado Springs. My brother is on his way back from hiking in Utah and Arizona. And I’m almost done with my homework.

I’d still call this spring break a success, however. I didn’t go skiing or hiking or sightseeing. But I did write an entire research paper, applied for several jobs, worked on my material for student research day next week, and I spent some time with the people that I care about the most.

Snapchat-752845048.jpg

 

Me after a couple drinks with the boyfriend. We stayed in with some of his friends and played Cards Against Humanity and UNO. They had never played CAH before. I was happy to be that corruption in their lives. I also get extremely competitive at UNO, so that’s always fun.

 

 

Screenshot_20180322-171043.png

 

 

 

My brother spent a day in Coyote Buttes. When my mom and I were online looking up pictures and information, I learned that there are over 1,000 dinosaur prints there from 190 million years ago. I texted my brother to send pictures if they saw any. I got this a few hours later.


2 thoughts on “Spring Break 2018

  1. I’m glad you consider your spring break a success! I didn’t go anywhere either, just worked. I applaude your motivation to get a research paper and apply for jobs done over the break. I had intentions of writing a paper but…well, I’m lazy when it comes to breaks. I didn’t do anything besides work and relax until Saturday when I wrote my blog and I worked on Sunday. But I did manage to get my laundry folded and my taxes done by midnight on Sunday so I’m going to give myself a pat on the back for adulting. I’m really glad you got to spend some time with your boyfriend, y’all look adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had no choice in getting the research paper done. I’d set my deadline with my professor as Sunday. That was a mistake. xD Also folding laundry is a huge accomplishment; mine usually just stays in the basket for a week before I fold it.

      Like

Leave a comment